Karen Strandbygaard Ulrich – Speaker at the Judges’ Conference

Dogs have been an important part of my life since I was nine years old when my first dog – a tan and white beagle – joined the family. It didn’t take long before I had “gone to the dogs” and it has been that way ever since. Dogs quickly became a way of life for me and over the years I have had a number of dogs – all of them beagles. Today my canine companions are three lovely beagles.

For almost 40 years I have been engaged in many different activities with my own dogs – both for training and competitive purposes: competitive obedience, tracking, conformation shows, junior handling, agility, flyball, rally-obedience, freestyle (HTM).

Performing at Show Of Winners 2007

For about 35 years I also bred beagles under the prefix Susquatch. I have always sincerely enjoyed the close relationship that comes with training my dogs – both as an important aspect of the human-canine bond that goes with living with dogs and when working towards competitive goals in different dog sports. In 1999 I learned about clicker training and it has been my preferred approach to training since then. Over the years my dogs have gained numerous titles and championships – primarily in competitive obedience, rally-obedience and conformations shows. My current  three dogs hold a total of two Danish obedience championships, three rally-o championships, and five conformation championship titles (Danish and international).

In 1984 I became an obedience trainer with the Danish Beagle Club and worked as a volunteer trainer for the club for 18 years. In 1998 I enrolled at Etologisk Institut where I completed my training as an animal behaviorist in 2000. I stayed with the institute as a teacher, tutor for a large number of students, external lecturer, and behavior counselor until 2008. During those years I did extensive behavior modification work with dogs with behavioral problems.

In 2008 I joined Hund & Træning – a Danish company of dedicated dog people that offers a number of educational programs (dog trainer, clicker trainer, dog behaviorist) as well as behavior modification for dogs, lectures, regular dog training classes, and other courses. From 2003-2012 the company also put out a dog training magazine to which I have contributed numerous articles on training and behavioral topics over the years. Additionally, I was co-editor of the magazine during 2008-2012. Over the years I have also held courses and given lectures on dog training and behavioral topics for many different dog clubs.

In my “private” life I hold an MA from Odense University. From 1994-1998 I taught at Odense University and several high schools. Upon completing my training as a dog behaviorist in 2000, I made “the final leap” (of faith) and made work with dogs a full-time commitment. Today my work primarily consists of teaching in the various educational programs and courses offered by Hund & Træning, working as a behavior counselor for dogs with behavioral problems, teaching courses and giving lectures in other dog clubs, and working on a book project with a colleague.

Karen and Socks doing Rally Obedience

Karen S. Ulrich

Karen will be talking about Calming Signals at the Judges’ Conference.

This entry was posted in Seminars and workshops. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Karen Strandbygaard Ulrich – Speaker at the Judges’ Conference

  1. Kath Hardman says:

    Looking forward to hearing from you and learning 🙂

Leave a Reply

