Jodie Forbes about Crufts 2014

forbes
Bramble and I qualified for Crufts in Freestyle and Grooming at a Young Kennel Club qualifying weekend last November. I have competed in groomer of the year for the past 4 years, but I had never qualified in Freestyle, since November was our first ever Freestyle competition.

We started preparing for Freestyle at Crufts about two weeks prior; finishing off our routine and sorting out a costume for me to wear.

At Crufts I was really surprised at how good some of the dogs looked in my grooming class, everyone’s dogs looked very well groomed, so of course I was elated to have won my class on Thursday.

1797989_10203620437015471_1382898426_n

Winning their grooming class

On Friday Bramble was the first from our Freestyle class to go in, so it was very nerve wrecking – especially since Bramble loves to roll on the fake grass on the floor of the ring, so I was expecting her to start rolling at any point! However she did everything I told her and did it with such enthusiasm and excitement, I couldn’t have been more proud of her. I watched some of the other dogs who were in my class, and they were really very impressive, I was sure I wouldn’t get a higher placing than 3rd because of the competition.

When the rosettes were given out in the prize giving I was so shocked to have been given 1st place! Bramble showed her little socks off and had fun whilst doing it and that’s what it’s all about.

*

Winning their freestyle class

Winning their freestyle class

On Thursday and Friday I also worked for DogWorld, both on their stand and taking photos for their twitter page which was an awesome experience because we got to meet a couple of celebrities, Victoria Stilwell and Amanda Holden.

Fotor0309212251

This entry was posted in Show reports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

